Flinders extends its praise to emerging early career researchers

tobias-lFlinders University’s 2011 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Early Career Researchers have just been announced, with 10 researchers sharing in a pool of $25,000.

Recipients of this year’s awards are Dr Lareen Newman, Dr Guido Parra, Dr Jennifer McKinnon, Dr Amy Slater, Dr Claire Jessup, Dr Paul Gardner-Stephen, Dr Morton Burt, Dr Tobias Loetscher, Dr Suzi Adams and Dr Lynley Bradnam.

Each winner will receive a cash prize of $2,500 to enhance their research networks, as well as a certificate to be presented at an official awards ceremony in the new year.

Launched in 2009, the annual awards aim to recognise, reward and promote individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to research at the University since finishing their PhD.

Flinders University Vice-Chancellor Professor Michael Barber said all 24 applications submitted this year were of high quality, making it difficult to choose the overall winners.

“These awards recognise excellence in research across all faculties, and are testament to the strong, dynamic research culture we have here at Flinders,” Professor Barber said.

“On behalf of the University, I extend my sincere congratulations to each and every recipient, and I hope you continue to inspire your students and colleagues to make their mark – as you have done – in research.”

Dr Loetscher (pictured), a Postdoctoral Research Fellow who is studying the neural mechanisms that control spatial attention in the brain, said it was a “great honour” to receive the accolade.

“It encourages and motivates you to go on with what you’re doing, and it’s also nice to have people recognise that your research is worthwhile,” Dr Loetscher said.

Posted in
College of Science and Engineering Engage News Research Uncategorized