Flinders academics chosen to advise NHMRC

Flinders University

In a sign of the University’s growing research strength, five Flinders University academics have been named as new members of the Principal Committees of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) for 2021–2024.

Professor Jonathan Craig, Professor Raymond Chan, Dr Yee Lian Chew, Professor Steve Wesselingh and Professor Julian Grant will each join one of three committees, designed to support and advise the government’s peak health and medical statutory and funding body.

Flinders University Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Robert Saint congratulated the experts on being chosen for such an important role.

“This is a huge honour for our researchers, allowing them to contribute their knowledge and expertise to shape the future of health and medical research in Australia.

“It’s wonderful to see Flinders University has the highest representation across the three committees, an achievement that highlights the calibre of expertise within our community.”

Professor Raymond Chan, Dr Yee Lian Chew and Professor Jonathan Craig

Each committee appointment is for three years and is designed to support the NHMRC and provide expert advice reflecting a wide range of perspectives.

Professor Raymond Chan and Dr Yee Lian Chew will join the Research Committee, advising on the distribution of funding and policies for the NHMRC grant program and on the scope and quality of health and medical research in Australia. The committee will be chaired by SAHMRI Executive Director and Flinders University alumnus and academic Professor Steve Wesselingh.

Professor Chan, a Professor of Cancer Nursing, joined Flinders University in August, becoming the inaugural director of the Caring Futures Institute. Dr Chew from the Flinders Health and Medical Research Institute is an NHMRC Emerging Leadership Fellow studying chronic pain and was earlier this year awarded a SA Young Tall Poppy for 2021.

Professor Jonathan Craig and Professor Julian Grant have been appointed to the newly established Health Research Impact Committee, which will play a key role in advising the NHMRC on strategies to promote and measure the impact of health research.

Currently Vice President and Executive Dean of Flinders University’s College of Medicine and Public Health, Professor Craig has made a significant contribution to the clinical research landscape in the prevention, identification, management and treatment of chronic kidney disease. Professor Grant, a Flinders University alumna and academic in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences, is recognised for her work in child and family health nursing, particularly for those most vulnerable.

Former Flinders University staff member and alumna Professor Anne Chang AM has also been named a member of the Health Research Impact Committee.

In announcing the new committees, Federal Minister for Health and Aged Care, the Hon Greg Hunt MP said: “Together with the new Council, chaired by Professor Caroline Homer AO, NHMRC’s Principal Committees will support NHMRC in its mission of building a healthy Australia.”

A full list of the committees can be found here: https://www.health.gov.au/ministers/the-hon-greg-hunt-mp/media/new-principal-committees-to-advise-nhmrc-council

Posted in
Alumni Caring Futures Institute College of Medicine and Public Health College of Nursing and Health Sciences Flinders Health and Medical Research Institute News