Queen’s Birthday Honours 2020

Remarkable Flinders University staff, students and alumni have been recognised through some of the highest Queen’s Birthday Honours this year.

These include Flinders University’s Deputy Chancellor Elizabeth Perry who was recognised for significant service to tertiary education, business and the community through the awarding of an AM.

Deputy Chancellor Elizabeth Perry

Ms Perry has served over many years as chairman and board member of organisations on a local, national and international basis, particularly in tertiary education, community and commercial areas. She has been able to draw on her extensive experience as an employment law specialist.

“It’s a great privilege to serve in diverse businesses over the years,” she says.

“I have been fortunate to be part of organisations that matter deeply to our community. In each role I have held, I have really enjoyed working closely with staff, management, stakeholders and other directors to ensure we make decisions that are evidence based, innovative and forward thinking. The best decisions are made where differing points of view are heard and valued.”

Professor Marcello Costa

Professor Marcello Costa, Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor and Chair of Neurophysiology at Flinders University, was also honoured. Professor Costa was awarded an AO for distinguished services to higher education and medical research in the field of neurophysiology, and to professional scientific bodies.

His contributions have advanced the enormous and growing knowledge base of how the nervous system of the gut works. His passion for public education in neuroscience has also been recognised.

“Understanding the neural mechanisms that control gut function will give clinicians greater possibilities to develop effective therapies,” Professor Costa says.


Professor Adrian Linacre

Other staff awarded include Professor Adrian Linacre, whose forensic innovations and expert skills in getting more from a crime scene have led advances in DNA profiling, and seen him provide pivotal evidence to cases around the world and take on illegal trade in exotic animals.

“Whatever people have touched – from someone who’s handled or opened a ziplock plastic bag containing controlled substances, to a spent bullet cartridge – we can now obtain high quality evidence.” Professor Linacre says.

“These techniques are being transferred into professional practice in Australia and around the world.”

The Flinders University Chair in Forensic Technology was awarded an OAM for his services to forensic science, recognising research and education leadership that is transforming crime investigation and nurturing tomorrow’s experts – to the extent of self-funding students to attend international conferences.

Education graduate and principal of Woodville High School Meredith Edwards received an OAM for services to education, one of several Flinders University alumni honoured this year.

“As the principal of a richly diverse high school and advocate for the rights of both Indigenous Australians and  recently arrived asylum seekers, this is an honour not just for me, but recognition of the rich contribution Aboriginal people and refugees make to our multicultural community. Diverse voices speak to us on so many levels.” Ms Edwards says.

Meredith Edwards

A total of sixteen people in Flinders University’s direct community were recognised through the 2020 Queens Birthday awards.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO):

Professor Marcello Costa AO
Current staff member
For distinguished service to higher education and to medical research in the field of neurophysiology, and to professional scientific bodies

Member of the Order of Australia (AM):

Ms Elizabeth Perry AM
Current council member (Deputy Chancellor)
For significant service to tertiary education, to business, and to the community

Professor Jackie Craig AM
Current staff member
For significant service to science and technology research in the defence capability field

Dr Jennifer Abbey AM
Former staff member
For significant service to the health of aged persons, particularly to pain care management

Ms Sarah Brown AM (GradDipHlthAdmin ‘15)
For significant service to community health, to remote area nursing, and to the Indigenous community

Dr Sara Louise Jones AM (MSc(PHC) ‘94)
For significant service to medical education, to podiatry, and to professional groups

Dr John Craig Byrne AM (BSc(Hons) ‘70)
For significant service to people who are deaf or hard of hearing, and to social justice

Professor Paul Nathaniel Smith AM (BM, BS ‘86)
For significant service to orthopaedic medicine as a surgeon, and to medical administration


Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM):

Professor Adrian Linacre OAM
Current staff member
For service to forensic science

Ms Meredith Edwards OAM (DipEd ‘77)
For service to education

Mr Darryl John Pope OAM (DipT ‘79)
For service to surf lifesaving, and to music education

Dr Ian Richard Davis OAM (BMBS(GradEntry) ’06)
Graduate (deceased)
Posthumous recognition for service to people living with Motor Neurone Disease, and to medicine

Public Service Medal (PSM):

Mrs Noelani Verina Reardon PSM (GCertPubSecMgmt ‘13)
For outstanding public service to road safety in New South Wales

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM):
Ms Michelle Christine Young AFSM (GCertPubSecMgmt ‘14)

Emergency Services Medal (ESM):
Mr Dermot Finbar Barry ESM (MPubAdmin(Mgmt) ‘05)

Australian Corrections Medal (ACM):
Mr Darryll Fleming ACM (GCertPubSecMgmt ‘12)

Posted in
Alumni College of Business, Government and Law College of Education, Psychology and Social Work College of Medicine and Public Health College of Nursing and Health Sciences College of Science and Engineering