Queen’s Birthday Honours at Flinders

Flinders Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Robert Saint is among several Flinders recipients of Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Professor Saint joins another current academic staff member, Professor David Wattchow, as a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

His award citation recognises, “significant service to tertiary education as an academic, administrator and researcher, and to the biomedical and molecular sciences”.

Since 2015, Professor Saint has been Vice President and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at Flinders University.

His long list of significant service includes holding positions at the Australian Research Council (ARC), CSIRO, SAHMRI, the Australian Academy of Science, and serving on the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council from 2012-2014.

He is a former Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Strategy) at The University of Adelaide.

Professor Wattchow’s citation recognises, “significant service to medicine as a gastrointestinal surgeon, to medical education, to professional societies, and as a benefactor”.

A Companion of Flinders since 2016, he has held senior positions at Flinders Medical Centre and Flinders Private Hospital, including as Senior Consultant in General Surgery, and is Chair and benefactor of the Clinician’s Special Purpose Fund.

A current supervisor and mentor of Flinders students, Professor Wattchow has authored more than 79 peer-reviewed research publications, and has also held senior positions at professional associations including the Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSSANZ), the National Health and Medical Research Council, and the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons.

Associate Professor Alaric Maude also became a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

His citation recognises, “significant service to education in the field of geography as an academic, researcher, author, and mentor”.

Associate Professor Maude, a member of Flinders University Council from 1979-1985, is a former head of the School of Geography, Population and Environmental Management.

His other service includes as Chair of the National Committee for Geographical Sciences at the Australian Academy of Science, as Secretary of the Institute of Australian Geographers, and as Co-editor, Meridian Series: “Australian Geographical Perspectives”, Oxford University Press.

Associate Professor Anne Johnson, Public Health, 2000-2007, also become a Member (AM) of the General Division of the Order of Australia.

Her citation recognises, “significant service to community health, particularly child injury prevention, through executive roles, and as a researcher and academic”.

Associate Professor Johnson has served as President of Kidsafe SA Inc; as a Council Member of the National Council Child Accident Prevention Foundation Australia (CAPFA); on the SA Health Safety and Quality in Health Care Consumer and Community Advisory Committee; and as Chair, Patient Journey Initiative Steering Committee, Country Health SA.

She was a Ministerial Appointee to the National Health Committee of the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC), and also to the Advisory Committee on Consumer and Community Engagement of the NHMRC.

Other current or former Flinders staff, alumni and Council members recognised in today’s awards include Emeritus Professor Paul O’Brien; theatre director Gale Edwards; former lecturer Dr Garrett Hunter; former Council member Andrew Fletcher; and former Criminology tutor Michael O’Connell.

Emeritus Professor O’Brien, a former Senior Lecturer and Associate Professor of Surgery at Flinders, became an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

His citation recognises, “distinguished service to medicine as a clinical surgeon and researcher, particularly of the stomach and its physiology, as a mentor to surgeons, and through contributions to public health in Australia and internationally”.

Ms Edwards became a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia, “for significant service to the performing arts as an international director and theatre producer, and as a teacher and mentor”.

She served as Associate Director of the Melbourne Theatre Company, Associate Director of the State Theatre Company of South Australia, and is acting Lecturer at the National Institute of Dramatic Art

Dr Hunter, a former Senior Lecturer in Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery at Flinders, received a Medal (OAM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

His citation recognises, “service to medicine, and to the community of the Northern Territory”.

Mr Fletcher became an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

He was recognised for, “distinguished service to business, particularly to the development of defence related industries in South Australia, through senior roles with maritime facility and major infrastructure projects, and to engineering”.

Mr O’Connell became a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

He was honoured for his, “significant service to public administration in South Australia, particularly in the area of criminal justice, and to victims’ rights”.

You can find the full list of Flinders alumni, staff and friends who received Queen’s Birthday Honours here. 


Posted in
Alumni College of Science and Engineering Corporate Faculty of Education, Humanities and Law Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences News Students Teaching and learning

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *